Book reviews

Cherringham – Murder on Thames (Cherringham: Mystery Shorts Book 1) by Matthew Costello & Neil Richards

Murder on Thames (Cherringham, #1)Murder on Thames by Matthew Costello

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cherringham “A Cosy Crime Series” is a joint writing project by US-based novel and games writer, Matthew Costello, and UK-based producer and writer, Neil Richards, to produce 12 mystery novellas over a year, based in the fictional English town of the title, in the Cotswolds. Murder on Thames is the first instalment and introduces the reader to ex-NYPD homicide cop, Jack Brennan, now widowed and retired across the pond to a canal barge in Cherringham, and to Sarah Edwards, single mum of two – thanks to her adulterous ex-husband – and web designer in the nice but, to date, dull town. When a body is found in the Thames’ weir, Sarah is shocked to discover that it was her childhood best friend, Sammi. Unable to believe the formal explanation that Sammi committed suicide, Sarah starts to ask her own questions, and fortunately finds herself an experienced detective to help…

I really enjoyed reading Cherringham Murder on Thames and have already bought the second instalment in the series, Mystery at the Manor. Matthew Costello and Neil Richards have written an entertaining mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, Midsomer Murders and Murder, She Wrote. Although “cosy”, the story is not twee or soppy; it is modern and has the right mix of exposition and excitement. Cherringham itself is well described, as were its residents, and I warmed to both lead characters. The mystery was well-plotted and effective. I will definitely be reading more of the Cherringham series and recommend this book to most modern cosy crime fans. For Readers’ Favorite.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s